Mrs. Halcyon Yorke-Young, Mrs. Nirala Bansee-Sookhai, Mrs. Jade Rodriguez, Mrs. Josephina Baptiste Mohammed and Mrs. Delisa Noel Christopher were today, May 1st, sworn-in as Acting Puisne Judges by Her Excellency Paula-Mae Weekes O.R.T.T., President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Pre-COVID-19, persons to be sworn-in were allowed to bring guests and everyone would be seated in the same room where the ceremony takes place.

However, today’s swearing-in ceremony was conducted under strict pandemic protocols. The judges were unaccompanied and seated a socially-distanced six feet apart in a separate room until it was their turn to be sworn in. No more than five persons were accommodated in any one room at the same time and as each judge was sworn in and received her instrument of appointment from President Weekes, she immediately departed the building as the normal post-ceremony reception was also forgone in light of the need for keeping physical interaction brief. Everyone wore masks.

Limiting the number of people in the room to five also precluded the presence of the media who would normally have been invited to cover the event.

On hand to witness the swearing-in of the Puisne Judges was The Honourable Chief Justice, Mr. Justice Ivor Archie O.R.T.T.