Her Excellency Paula-Mae Weekes

President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Swore-In the Fair Trading Commission

And the Chairman of the Equal Opportunity Tribunal – April 3, 2018

It is a universal truth that competition among businesses benefits the consumer.  The competition for customers results in competitive prices, superior quality products and services as well as more attentive customer service.

In an effort to ensure that local consumers enjoy the benefit of competition and also to discourage businesses operating locally from forming cabals and fixing prices, the Government introduced the Fair Trade Act of 2006.  The Act established the Trinidad and Tobago Fair Trading Commission (TTFTC) – an independent Statutory Agency the objectives of which are to:

  • Ensure all legitimate business enterprises have an equal opportunity to participate in the economy.
  • Prevent Anti-competitive conduct while at the same time complementing other policies that promote competition.
  • Maintain and encourage free and fair competition.
  • Raise awareness of the benefits of competition through advocacy.
  • Provide guidance on how to comply with the law.

The appointment of Commissioners to the Fair Trade Commission is for a period of three (3) years.  The term of the first Fair Trade Commission having come to an end, Cabinet recently selected a new panel to be sworn in by the President.

The new Commissioners are: Dr. Ronald Ramkissoon – Chairman, Dr. Mikaeel Mohammed, Mr. Dennis D. Scott, Mr. Christopher Sieuchand and Dr. Arielle John. All but Dr. John are being sworn in today. Dr. John is currently out of the country and will be sworn in when she returns.

Also being sworn in today as Chairman of the Equal Opportunity Tribunal is Mrs. Donna Prowell-Raphael.