President of the Senate, Senator the Honourable Nigel de Freitas was today sworn-in as Acting President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago by the Honourable Chief Justice, Mr. Justice Ivor Archie at the Office of the President, Circular Road, St. Ann’s.

Acting President de Freitas assumes the duties of Her Excellency Christine Carla Kangaloo O.R.T.T., who left the jurisdiction today on a short vacation. President Kangaloo returns to the country on August 24.