For the second time this week, Her Excellency Paula-Mae Weekes O.R.T.T., President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, hosted a National Awards ceremony at The President’s House. This time it was National Awards 2021 on Wednesday March 9, 2022, at which 27 citizens took part in the investiture to become Members of the Distinguished Society of Trinidad and Tobago.

Chaconia Medal Gold
Ms Beverly King
Mr. Dale McLeod
Mr. Jerry Hospedales
Professor Winston Mellowes
Ms Sharon Christopher

Chaconia Medal Silver
Mr. McDonald Greene

Hummingbird Medal Gold
Mr. Bhawani Persad
Mrs. Deborah Jean-Baptiste-Samuel
Mr. Austin Lyons “Superblue”
Mr. John Ferreira
Mr. Michael Boothman
Maulana Mushtaq Ahmed Sulaimani

Hummingbird Medal Silver
Mr. Lincoln Phillips
Mr. Allan Fortune “Brother Mudada”
Sister Annetta Alexander
Mr. Franz Lambkin “Delamo”
Mr. Johnson King “Johnny King”
Mr. Lennox Toussaint
Mr. Morel Peters “King Luta”

Hummingbird Medal Bronze
Mr. Stephen Marcano (posthumously)

Public Service Medal of Merit Gold
Ms Gillian Macintyre
Captain Kent Moore (posthumously)
Mr. Vishnu Dhanpaul

Public Service Medal of Merit Silver
Mr. Alick Charles

Medal for the Development of Women Gold
Ms Gaietry Pargass
Reverend Joy Abdul-Mohan

Medal for the Development of Women Silver
Ms Sherna Alexander-Benjamin

Pandemic protocols having prohibited a reception, Her Excellency presented each National Award 2020 and 2021 recipient with a box, specially crafted for the occasion by local company Allanworks, containing Champagne and a choice selection of local sweets and condiments. Pictured here is Hummingbird Medal Gold recipient, Dr. Lester Goetz with his gift box.